Reviews

The ‘Visitor’s Book’ is in the chest of drawers in the dining area. Please do record your thoughts as we strive to enhance the pleasure of visitors and look to the comments to aid us in ‘doing better’. Please click here to read an original scan of the wonderful comments left by previous visitors to Lazy Tree. We have also provided transcripts below.


David and Sue – What a treat to spend time with you again in your lovely Florida home.  You are wonderful hosts – the best.  We will treasure our great conversations and dining experiences.  David, thanks for our cosmos – Sue, thank you for wonderful meals and snacks.   Please come to Houston again so we can return the favour and host you again.  Or, maybe we can plan to meet somewhere. We will get to London again and look forward to seeing you.

We love you guys!

Suzy & Mike Kees, Houston, Texas
November 2016


Dear David and Sue – We had a wonderful break in your idyllic home.  It is a fantastic place to relax and switch off.  Just what was needed! We hope to come back sometime soon and maybe bring mum and Mike (if they promise to behave!!!).

Best wishes,
Ben & Mina, Canada
October 2016


A big thank you to David and Sue for a wonderful stay in your beautiful house – a group of 8 all enjoyed one another’s company splashing about in the pool with fantastic view of the river where lazy days were spent.  In the evening a fantastic choice of restaurants – although a car is needed every time. Then evenings spent round the table on the patio – shame we never got to use the BBQ!!! Accommodation in the house is first class with lovely sitting area and a big screen.

We hired a boat for 10 days through Captain John – sorry to say we never met him.  We had our dealing with Captain Bob – who we felt needs customer service lessons, a rather rude man to deal with – however, he certainly never took the enjoyment of having the use of the boat.  Fantastic beaches and small islands to visit – a wonderful way to spend two weeks.

The information you have left on the house and surrounding areas is highly informative.

We would like to think that one day we would return.

Thank you once again.

Penny, Colin, Karen, Dave, Soraya, Dave, Tom, Phill, Joe, UK
September 2016


What a beautiful house to come to after a long day of travelling – such a wonderful warm welcome.  Captain John’s boats a must, what a man and so many tales to tell! Plenty of R&R as well as trips out.  A great holiday was had by all. Thank you David and Sue, you helped to convince us that Greece really isn’t the only place to relax! x

Much love,
Shelley, Jonathan, Ayrton & Charlie, UK
August / September 2016


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lazy Tree from 9-19 August 2016 and the weather (perhaps surprisingly) we thought was great!  Sunshine till mid-afternoon, dramatic thunder, lightning and some occasional rain till early evening. The house is, as you will experience, well laid out, very comfortable and immaculate. As a house builder I fully appreciate the quality of finish, low maintenance materials, visual kerb and water appeal of “Lazy Tree”.

As Commander of one of Captain John/Bob’s Hurricanes the current and prevailing weather can make docking challenging but “don’t we just love a challenge!”
David, UK

Lazy Tree is a fabulous property in a unique location.  The open-plan layout is perfect for anytime of the day. Highly functional equipment includes the washing machine, which has encouraged me to be a convert from Miele!  Local shopping outlets for suitcase filling shopping, for when you aren’t out on the water, are Miramer and Sanibel.  A must for a return visit.
Gillian, UK

After a stressful end to the academic year, with exams, this was the perfect, restorative break for me and Lydia.  Our highlights included a trip to Barnacle’s restaurant on North Captiva (accessible only by board, as we learned when we tried to return by car!) and a pod of dolphins swimming alongside us on the first day of the boat. We were lucky enough to see dolphins on almost every boat trip, but they only swam beside the boat once and it was very special.  Everything about the house has clearly been very well thought out, from the treats in the kitchen upon arrival to the cupboard full of pool towels.   Lazy Tree has been home for the past 10 days and it will be sad to leave.
Naomi, UK

Our stay at Lazy Tree has been a very happy one.  I especially enjoyed swimming in the pool while enjoying the sea view.  I have found lots of inspiration on our boat trips and watching the sunset over the water.  Today we visited the Edison & Ford Museum – I highly recommend it – the Botanical Gardens are amazing, just watch out for the falling figs!
Lydia, UK

PS : Lydia is a budding artist so over the coming year we will all be fortunate enough to re-live our days at Lazy Tree over the coming year through her A level art project.
Naomi, UK

David, Gillian, Naomi and Lydia, UK
August 2016


We’ve had such a wonderful stay! We hired the boat every day and travelled to Captiva where the water was clear and we were joined by dolphins, turtles and manatees along the way. The pool was perfect after long hot days and Netflix enjoyed thoroughly. Restaurant highlights:  Bonefish Grill, Bahama Breeze, Rumrunners. Would not recommend Calabasas (however it’s spelt!) Cannot wait to return to home away from home!

Simon, Charlotte, Jessica, Lucy, Tricia and Ava, UK
July 2016


Thank you so much for your now legendary hospitality and for letting me stay with you in your fabulous villa.  I can see how your guests will easily come to love this place as their home from home.  I very much look forward to returning with Shirley.

John Durrant, UK
www.hello-photo.co.uk
May 2016


A lovely location for our first family holiday together.  Excellent facilities and perfect accommodation for our extended family (plus baby).  A great base for visits to places around the river and lots of nice restaurants too!

Thank you!

Alex, Emily & Bethans (6 months), Trevor & Suzanne, Crawley, UK
Rachel & Jono , Abu Dhabi, UAE
April 2016


A perfect house and location for our special family get together.  The wow factor on opening the front door for the first time lasted all week!  Thank you for allowing us to share your home – fantastic.

Mike & Monica Long, York UK
Kate & Ewan, Isla & Eddie Miller , Newcastle UK
Barney, Carol & Cameron Long, Washington DC
April 2016


Thank you SO much for letting us stay in your house.  It’s a really good size – perfect for us and the location is brilliant.  I especially like all the sofas there – SO comfortable much more comfy than ours at home.  But my favourite part of the house has to be the pool. It’s so cool! First of all, its heated (which is BRILLIANT) and it gets loads of fun toys.  I love the dolphin and alligator.  We also saw dolphins and I recommend that if you see the fins or back of one, go down to the jetty because they you can see them up close.  Also my sister and I love the cupboard with all the toys in!  Thank you again.

From Isla (11)
The Millers
April 2016


When we met David and Sue last year, and were shown this beautiful home, we knew that we had found the perfect “HQ” for our younger son’s wedding. We have stayed in Cape Coral many times before, but can easily say that Lazy Tree is the best house we have ever rated.  Everything here is of the highest quality and as previous visitors have mentioned, it certainly has the wow factor too.  It’s a perfect home for entertaining and equally for peace and quiet watching the river and the wildlife.  We had dolphin spotting daily!

Thanks again for letting us use your lovely home as our “wedding HQ”.

Wedding 2016

Patrick, Gill, James, Nick, Lucy (Hudgells)
Lesley, Andy and Richard (Howards)
The Hudgell & Howard Families
March 2016


Arriving at Lazy Tree after a very long journey all the way from Oslo, we all got blown away by the house. It even exceeded the high expectations we had after looking at the pictures on the home page. The rooms are all very spacious and left us with a very luxurious feeling. The kitchen is fully equipped and made cooking really fun. David as a host made a really big effort to make our stay as good as possible, both by sending proper information in advance of our trip, by providing a lot of information in the house and by having a highly professional agency visiting us the first day of our stay. When arriving at the house the first night, without having had the time to go to the grocery store, we found both food and beverages in the refrigerator. It made us feel really welcomed! This host and this house are highly recommended!!!

Preben Lilleberg, Norway
March 2016
Posted on an independent review website.


This place was even more fantastic than the beautiful pictures on Lazy Tree’s home page.  A fully equipment kitchen made cooking fun and the rest of the house was perfect for two families. Arriving late at night after a long flight we felt really welcomed finding food and beverages in the refrigerator. Highly recommendable!

A big thank you from us all!

The Mack Louchal & Lilleberg Families
February 2016


This place is fantastic! Our expectations were exceeded on every level. The home was impeccably clean and well outfitted. Our crew consisted of two couples and four young children and the property was perfect. The two equally exquisite master suites perfectly suited our needs. The kids loved the pool and so did the adults. The views were spectacular – both at sunrise and sunset! The home was even nicer than the pictures. David was a great host and met all our needs and more. We’ll be back!!

Jacqueline Huard, Canada
February 2016
Posted on an independent review website.


Our first family trip was so much more than we could have asked for. The home was beautiful and had everything we needed. We had beautiful weather for boating, swimming and exploring. The kids never wanted to leave the pool!!! Thank you so much for opening your home and allowing us to make memories forever! We will be back!

The Direnzo & Wojcicki Families
Mike, Jacqueline, James & Hannah
Plus
Jeff, Pam, Ben & Harry
Toronto, Canada
February 2016


Great villa, so spacious with awesome view.  Had a wonderful time here.  This is our second visit to your lovely abode and hope to be back again sometime in the future. We have been visiting this area for the last 20 years and enjoy it every time.

Regards.
Peter & Sheila, Longparish, Hampshire UK
January 2016


We had a truly wonderful 2 weeks here.  Your fabulous villa, together with lots of interesting wildlife areas and endless shopping, made a perfect vacation. The villa had everything we needed and more – the first place we have ever stayed with enough coathangers – thank you!!

Favourite trips:-

  • Corkscrew Wildlife Preserve
  • J Ding Darling Wildlife Refuse (Sanibel)
  • Muscle Car City (Punta Gorda)
  • Manatee Park
  • Big Cat Rescue (Tampa)
  • Coconut Point shopping

We hope to return!

David and Christina, Wokingham, Berkshire UK
January 2016


This house was amazing! We travelled with our three children and both of their grandmothers. From the minute we walked through the front door, we wowed. The view was wonderful! We were even lucky to see dolphins passing by a few times during our stay. The area was peaceful and quiet and the neighbours very kind. The house was fully equipped with everything that the kids and we needed. It was very clean and tastefully decorated. Peta, who manages The Lazy Tree Villa was absolutely wonderful! So helpful and nice. She made us feel very welcome. David, the owner was very keen that we enjoyed our stay in the house and that we felt comfortable. He was very helpful and answered all our questions very quickly by e-mail. Thank you David and Sue for letting us stay at your beautiful home! We had a wonderful vacation.

Best regards, Jasmine with family 🙂

Jasmine Keuter, Sweden
December 2015
Posted on an independent review website.


We absolutely loved this place! From the first moment we opened the front door (we wowed J) – it was breathtaking!!! The house was clean and everything we needed was here. The info manual was a great help and a special thanks to Peta who was always there to answer our questions.

Thank you so much for letting us stay at The Lazy Tree.

Best regards.
Jasmine with Family
The Keuter / Stoppel Family, Sweden
December 2015


This is an amazing property. We have greatly enjoyed our time here.

Facilities are superb – first class!  Many thanks.

Dack, Potter & Turners, Norwich/Oxford, UK.
August 2015


Absolutely idyllic!! The house is just amazing and the views are superb. We spent most days in the boat with Stephen and Linda, calling in for lunch at truly delightful places. A HUGE thank you to both of them for inviting us here.

Alan & Janice xx

Alan & Janice Knox, Dunstable, UK.
October 2015


Dear David & Sue,

Thank you do much for letting us stay at Lazy Tree.  After an exhausting week at the parks in Orlando the Lazy Tree and Cape Coral is exactly what we needed. Cape Coral was very easy to explore thanks to your info manual. The facilities at Lazy Tree are amazing and if we did not have to leave i am sure the kids would still be in the pool!

Thank you once again.

Love from the Evans’s.

The Evans family, Englefield Green, UK.
August 2015


When you have everything, you want for nothing.

David – you have a sumptuous house and we had a wonderful week here.  Our friendly dolphin chum came to see up every day, the weather was fantastic and the thunderstorms were EPIC!

Hard to imagine being back in Lightwater!

Family Pearson, Abrahams & Jeans
July 2015


From the jaw-dropping view entering the front door, our stay at Lazy Tree Villa was a true one-of-a-kind vacation experience.  The house is spacious and cosy at the same time – perfect for us, our daughter, son-in-law and two grandsons.  We all enjoyed the pool and patio – the lanai kept bugs and some sun at bay… Daughters-in-laws joined us for a few days – they are from Perth, Scotland and loved the accommodations.

We went to Ft Meyers Beach and walked the pier and visited Gopher Tortoise Nature Preserve – saw two nests with tortoises – boys very excited.  Had lunch @ Doc Ford Rum Bar & Grill … bought an autographed book by author/owner Randy Wayne White.  Played putt-putt and visited Lakes Park – which was beautiful.  Had dinner @ Rumrunners – OK & Papa Joe’s (very good, busy but very friendly, accommodating (8) of us) great pizza & Chianti.  Could not get in Iguana Mia … Mostly ate in around the dining table (perfect) and patio table.

Heading home to cold & snow – but taking warm, wonderful memories of Lazy Tree with us!  Many thanks!

Janusy & Linda Szysyko & Family, Detroit
February 27, 2015


We love this place!  David & Sue we thank you for making this special home – spacious, beautiful, inviting and warm – available to us.  Our 3 adult children & their significant others were so pleased.  Every day is a joy to be here.  We loved the kitchen! And used the great induction cooktop (3minutes to boil water! Wow) and the fantastic oven.  Our family meals were full of laughter – the home tables, chairs & room to meet together – made it possible.

We played in the pool, and used the great toys you have to offer.  The stars at night are luminous & wonderful to view from the pool.  We are wowed by the doors that slide panel by panel into the lanai area. Too good to be true. The living room couch was perfect for all of us.

We biked to the Boat House & enjoyed the sand and surf.  But our favourite was just having lazy mornings, slow big breakfasts & hanging out poolside.  We rented a boat one day & went to Sanibel Island.  We were escorted by 5 dolphins.  It was such a wonder to experience it.  Appreciate the tips on Restaurants in the Lazy Tree Guide.  Went out for Italian – Ariani’s.

Also went to Cape Cod Fish Co which was featured on YELP.  Had Mexican @ Iguana Mia.  Loved the guacamole & chips!

Thank you so much for this beautiful experience.  We hope to come back again!  Blessings,

Suzan & Chris Myhre, Appleton, WI
30 January 2015


It is a privilege to be first.  So fresh, so new, so smelling of paint, so scared we would break something or damage the perfection that has been lovingly created.  Thank you for letting us share your home.

A wonderfully “simplistic” design with all the modern touches.  Beautiful new toys for the pool and a view that calms you down as soon as the door is opened …. The I75 and the airport travel instantly forgotten.

The Osprey team were as excited as we were and how good to see Tom ‘the boatman’ again.  His advice and stories seep into the back of my head as we piloted a course for Tarpon Bay – don’t miss it.

Could it be any more perfect?  Oh, yes, you organised a new Starbucks drive thru’ for intense caffeine and calories.  Thank you very much.

PS.  A shower and a window – the dolphins were a bit upset, but they will get used to it.

The Herds, Edinburgh
23 October 2014